President’s Message

Highlighting Select Papers from  AUTOTESTCON 2016 and Beyond

New Year, Continuing the Journey

J. Max Cortner

Greetings and best wishes for a happy and prosperous new year from the Instrumentation and Measurement Society!

As engineers we often are faced with problems, and our first step is to assess the resources available to help us solve them. The IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society (IMS) faces many of the same pressures and problems of the IEEE as a whole. As the new President of the IMS, I am greatly encouraged by the resources we have to solve them. It amazes me that people of such high caliber are dedicated enough to their profession to volunteer significant amounts of their valuable time. As members of the IMS, you have elected some wonderful people to provide leadership on the Administrative Committee (AdCom). I am truly honored to be serving as President of your society in 2018, and I believe I am well equipped through the talent on the AdCom to address our needs as a profession.

Many of the members of the AdCom continue from last year, and we had a great year in 2017! I owe a great debt of gratitude to Past President Ruth Dyer for her leadership. During 2017 we underwent examination as a society during our five-year Publications Review in February and again in our five-year Society Review in June. Both of these independent committees gave us high compliments and recognized many best practices that we have developed over the years.  The foundation of these is our deliberate IMS strategy to address all aspects of our organization and the actions that flow from it. Please feel free to contact any of the officers listed at the end of the article.

Early in the year, I have the pleasure of reviewing and refining that strategy (which can be found on our website: ieee-ims.org) with the 2018 slate of AdCom Officers and Editors-in- Chief. We will set goals for each committee and review the mission of the IMS to:

  • Provide the most comprehensive and high-quality services to our members and related professionals
  • Serve as the professional incubator for the growth of all (particularly younger) members and
  • Be in the forefront of future I&M technological advances.

We will review the metrics accumulated in 2017 and grade ourselves on our effectiveness at serving you, our members. In 2018, look for expanded conferences in number and content, enhanced publications (Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement and the I&M Magazine), great Distinguished Lecturers, and Video Tutorials. Watch the website and read the newsletter, because we will have additional offerings as the year goes on. This is a dynamic time for the IMS and we have great things in store. Watch us! Better yet, get involved and join us in improving our great organization.

President– J. Max Cortner: j.m.cortner@ieee.org

Executive VP– Salvatore Baglio: salvatore.baglio@unict.it

VP Finance– Dario Petri: dario.petri@unitn.it

Treasurer– Manuel Ramirez: jmramirez@ieee.org

VP Education– Kristen M. Donnell: kristen.donnell@mst.edu

VP Membership– Sergio Rapuano: rapuano@unisannio.it

VP Publications– Mark Yeary: yeary@ou.edu

VP Conferences– Chi Hung Hwang: chihunghwang@gmail.com

VP Technical Committees and Standards– Ruqiang Yan: ruqiang@seu.edu.cn

Junior Past President– Ruth Dyer: rdyer@ksu.edu

Senior Past President– Reza Zoughi: zoughi@mst.edu

Editor-in-Chief, Transactions on I&M– Shervin Shirmohammadi: shervin@site.uottawa.ca

Editor-in-Chief, I&M Magazine– Wendy Van Moer: wendy.w.vanmoer@ieee.org
 

-Max

This block is broken or missing. You may be missing content or you might need to enable the original module.